Background to the MENA Region

Ayman Ismail, Thomas Schøtt, Abbas Bazargan, Basheer Salaytah, Hamad Al Kubaisi, Majdi Hassen, Ignacio de la Vega, Nihel Chabrak, Abier Annan, Mike Herrington, Penny Kew

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

2 Citations (Scopus)


The term MENA refers to the Middle East and North Africa. The MENA region includes the area from Morocco in northwest Africa to Iran in southwest Asia and down to Sudan in Africa. It comprises 22 countries, and accounts for approximately 6% of the world’s population. The following countries are typically included in MENA: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen. Ethiopia and Sudan are sometimes included. The population of the MENA region is about 436 million people, the vast majority living in middle-income economies with a GDP in the region of US$3.111 Trillion (World Bank 2016). The region accounts for 60% of the world oil reserves and 45% of the world’s natural gas reserves. Due to the region’s substantial petroleum natural gas reserves, MENA is an important source of global economic stability.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationContributions to Management Science
Number of pages13
Publication statusPublished - 2018

Publication series

NameContributions to Management Science
ISSN (Print)1431-1941
ISSN (Electronic)2197-716X

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Business and International Management
  • Strategy and Management
  • Management Science and Operations Research
  • Marketing
  • Management of Technology and Innovation


Dive into the research topics of 'Background to the MENA Region'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this